The estates of Binstead, Wootton Bridge, Havenstreet, Arreton and Newchurch were purchased by Sir Thomas Fleming in 1609 and included the manors of Haseley, Combley, Quarr & Newnham, Binstead, Duxmore and Rackland - an area of some 4000 acres which remained more or less intact until its dispersal at auction in 1956.
In the 17th century the Fleming estates on the Island were very extensive comprising also: the manors of Godshill and Freshwater; the lease of the Carisbrooke Priory Estate from the Crown; the rectories of Godshill, Carisbrooke and Shalfleet, and the vicarage of Arreton, with tithes over a wide area; Shofflet Woods (near Osborne) as well as premises in Newport, including some thirty properties of the former Newport Chantry.
Haseley Manor House was the Island home of Sir Thomas Fleming the younger (1564-1623). Later members of the family lived at picturesque Binstead Cottage. The Victorian dower house, Binstead House, was sold in 1925.This page was last edited on: 4th March, 2015 06:16:25